Jorge Lorenzo’s victory at the Italian Grand Prix was more than ten years after his first victory in the MotoGP class which came in just his third race of his debut season, at Estoril in Portugal in 2008. As shown in the following list he is just the seventh rider to have a winning career in the premier-class of grand prix racing lasting longer than ten years:

Longest winning careers in the premier-class of Grand Prix

  Rider First GP win Last GP win Length of winning GP career
1 Valentino Rossi Great Britain/2000 Dutch TT/2017 16 years 351 days
2 Alex Barros FIM/1993 Portugal/2005 11 years 204 days
3 Dani Pedrosa China/2006 Valencia/2017 11 years 182 days
4 Phil Read Ulster/1964 Czech/1975 11 years 16 days
5 Giacomo Agostini Finland/1965 West Germany/1976 11 years 7 days
6 Loris Capirossi Australia/1996 Japan/2007 10 years 338 days
7 Jorge Lorenzo Portugal/2008 Italy/2018 10 years 51 days
8 Andrea Dovizioso GBR/2009 Qatar/2018 8 years 235 days
9 Eddie Lawson South Africa/1984 Hungary/1992 8 years 110 days
10 Mick Doohan Hungary/1990 Argentina/1998 8 years 53 days