Tenth place finisher at the Czech GP, Andrea Iannone, crossed the line just 8.326 seconds after race winner Andrea Dovizioso. This is the closest top ten of all-time in the premier-class of grand prix racing, in a race that has gone full race distance.

Here is a full list of the top ten closest races of all-time in the premier-class (Only races that have completed full race distance are considered for inclusion in the following table):


  Year Circuit Race winner Time covering first 10 riders across the line (sec)
1 2018 Brno Andrea Dovizioso 8.326
2 2000 Phillip Island Max Biaggi 12.582
3 2018 Assen Marc Marquez 13.056
4 1996 Brno Alex Criville 13.776
5 2017 Aragon Marc Marquez 14.075
6 2018 Losail Andrea Dovizioso 14.594
7 2017 Mugello Andrea Dovizioso 15.502
8 2000 Suzuka Norick Abe 15.662
9 2017 Phillip Island Marc Marquez 16.262
10 2015 Qatar Valentino Rossi 17.435


This illustrates what great racing there is in MotoGP at the moment, with three of the opening ten races of 2018 appearing in the above table.